Beauty Box Review: August BIRCHBOX

Hey there Frenchies!

So I decided to subscribe to a beauty box, and with lots of research (there are LOTS on the market now) I decided to go for Birchbox as they seemed to consistently have lovely products, well…from what I could tell from their website!

I ordered it on Friday, and it came on Monday (today) how quick is that?! I had actually thought that it wouldn’t come until September, so I was pleasantly surprised by that first and foremost.

Each box is £10, which is the best value beauty box I could see during all my researching.

I also liked that on your ‘online profile’ you fill in some demographics i.e. skin tone, hair texture, etc so they actually tailor your box to what you have specified, pretty good eh?

Okay, so on to my first impressions…

Opening th

The packaging is super cute, with this months theme being ‘#BEAUTYJUNKIE’ which featured little emojis, i kind of wish some of them were on my iPhone, sometimes the nail painting emoji just isn’t enough.

So beyond the front of the box, there is a welcome to Birchbox postcard, some little stickers (not sure about these..if anyone wants them comment below) and a booklet to tell you what’s in the box !

First Look

Oh exciting, looks like a great little bundle! There are 7 items which is pretty good. The items are housed in a cute little drawstring bag, now let’s get down to the deets!

Contents

Working left to right:

L. Erickson Grab & Go Ponytail Holder (£11.50)– This little hair tie is metal free so it is good for your hair! Personally I wouldn’t buy this as I think it is bit 90’s, I like a more discreet hair tie, but I will try it out  it out at home and let you know what I think!

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer (£20)- I let out a little squeak when I saw this peeking out of my box, I have been wanting to try this for AGES and I love Laura Mercier products, can’t wait to let you know how I get on with this, yay!

Beauty Protector Leave in Conditioner (£14)- Okay, so I don’t put conditioner on my hair very often as a rule as I think it makes my hair very flat, so I am looking forward to trying this. It also smells like candy floss!!

Rituals Fortune Scrub (£10)- I just bought new exfoliater last week, silly me. This is Orange and Cedar Wood scented, so i probably would use it in the morning, as I like to use more gently scented, aromatherapy products in the evening (It’s just how my mind works).

Lord & Berry Blush in Lotus (£17)- I have looked at Lord & Berry products on line a few times and I was never too sure if I should risk buying them incase they were not any good (This is where Beauty Boxes come into their own) I am a bit set in my ways with certain beauty products. The shade of the blusher in the box suits all skin tones as per the little magazine, so I will give it a go and let you know how I get on!

Huygens Exfoliating Cream (£17.90)- Hmm, two exfoliators in one box? Anyway, this scrub is gentle enough for daily use but it is specifically for your complexion. I am always a bit anxious about trying out scrubs etc on my face as my eczema goes a bit crazy. However I will let you all know if it is any good for sensitive skin!

Benefit High Beam (£19.50)- I already am in LOVE with this product, I have used this in the past and it was one of the best highlighters I ever had. So this is a recommendation from me, you won’t be disappointed.

So, I will try out all these absolute beauties and let you know what is a hit or miss! Keep a look out for the next post! If you want to try out birch box for yourself, you can get one here!

Much Love,

Judy xo

4 thoughts on “Beauty Box Review: August BIRCHBOX

  1. Pingback: August Birchbox, My Top Three Picks. |

  2. Pingback: September BIRCHBOX, First Impressions. |

Leave a Reply

