Autumn Interiors

Welcome to Autumn Frenchies!

‘I am so glad I live in a world were there are Octobers’– Anne of Green Gables

Autumn is by far my favourite season, I think it is the the feeling of change in the air and the cool but yet still mild weather.

What is also exciting is being able to reflect the change in the season in my home. I have discussed in previous posts about my love of bringing the outside in. Having a neutral colour palette in your homes means you can add in subtle changes with ease.

Here are some of the autumnal changes I have started to bring into my home in the past weeks, if you follow me on Instagram you will have had a sneak peek already.

Munchkin PumpkinI just love munchkin pumpkins! You do not have to spend a fortune to add seasonal elements to your home. These little fellows are 90p from Sainsbury’s vegetable aisle. I have these dotted through the kitchen and dining room. Why not try your local farmers market for more unusual ones? If you are not fond of the mess of pumpkin carving, these are a great alternative.

Garland

I just ADORE this bunting above my stove in the living room. A bargain TKMAXX find (yes it is my favourite shop, I seldom shop elsewhere these days!)

Why not try and make your own with conkers or acorns that you find on a foraging trip, its a great way to entertain kids at the weekends or half term…or yourself if you are at a loose end 🙂

Autumnal Cushion

This ‘Malini’ cushion I just couldn’t pass over! It reminds me of the group of sycamore trees that sit out the back of my house, as well as the fairy ring in the field opposite my house. I have these on my grey corner sofa to tie in with this chair. Again I keep all my other pieces neutral, too many different prints can look a bit fussy so i decided to stick to trees. The next purchase on my wish list for the living room is a grey faux fur rug…let the searching commence!

Side Board, Dining room.Adding an autumn wreath to the home is quite an American touch I feel. I purchased this from TKMAXX who have a lot of ‘Fall’ and ‘Thanks Giving’ decor in at the moment, it would be rude not to join in 🙂 These antler candle sticks I bought last year add the height and balance needed on the sideboard, as the lamps are very tall.

I changed the other nik-naks on the sideboard to grey and silver to compensate for the rusty tones of the wreath.

Floral Centrepiece & Pumpkins.Adding flowers in autumnal colours is also an effective way to bring the outside in. Instead of buying your white roses this week, try some burnt orange or yellow.

The little black starry bucket is a tea light holder that I purchased from my local garden centre.

Again note the munchkin pumpkins! Perfect in any vignette.

Autumn Bedding

Finally, don’t forget the bedroom! I have an eternal love of blue and white, but it can feel cold in the chillier months. This raspberry Toile bed set from Laura Ashley was the first thing I bought when Simon and I got engaged. If you cannot bear to part with your crisp white bed linen, how about adding a throw or scatter cushions to add that depth of colour and cosiness we all need for the chillier months.

If you fancy looking at some other autumn/winter inspiration, why not have a peep at my Pinterest board.

Have you started to think about adding Autumnal elements into your home, or can you not bear to let go of summer?

P.S have you entered my Facebook competition yet?

Much Love,

Judy xo

Leave a Reply

