Mint Tea

Those of you who know me will appreciate my unwavering love for Mint tea. Mint tea can come in many varieties including Peppermint, Spearmint and other interesting mint/herbal blends.  I drink 2-3 cups a day of different types and swear by it for a number of reasons.

A few years ago I decided to cut down on my caffeine intake.  I tried green tea first but I wasn’t fussed on the taste but when I tried peppermint tea, I knew it was a keeper.

 I thought I would share some of the known benefits of mint teas to explain why I keep reaching for them rather than a traditional Black Tea blends.

Peppermint 1

Digestive Health

We inherently don’t like talking about our digestive health even though we are all proud owners of these things called intestines. Mint teas are great for your digestive system, not only can they reduce bloating and cramping but increase gut motility too, helping things just work a little bit better in there.

Immunity

Mint teas are known for their antibacterial properties which can help your body manage the bugs that it comes into contact with during the course of a day (spearmint tea is particular good at this). They can also help you when you’re feeling under the weather by helping to quell nausea and act as anti-inflammatories in the stomach.

Peppermint 2

Stress Relief

When it comes to stress and anxiety, mint tea is one of your best allies. The menthol that is naturally present in the tea is a relaxant. This calming property can help to provide natural stress and anxiety relief.

Sleep

As mentioned above, mint teas are natural relaxants and so can help to aid sleep. Drink a cup in the evening and enjoy some quality Zzz’s.

Peppermint 4

Hormones

Some of you might have read online that Mint teas (specifically spearmint) can help with ailments caused by hormone imbalances however the internet is full of information that is not always based on fact and evidence. As a medical professional I don’t feel that this particular health claim has been widely enough researched so I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone looking for a herbal remedy for these types of ailment without first consulting your GP.

My Favourite Blend

Still yet to be convinced? Why not give it a try and see what I’m making the big fuss about 🙂  If you’re looking for a tea to try, I recommend trying Suki Tea –  Loose Leaf Peppermint, it’s a fresh and delicate tea, ethically sourced and blended in Belfast. Find it here. (You can also get it in teabags if you don’t have an infuser.)

I hope you’ve enjoyed this blog and are excited to try your first cup of Mint Tea.

Much Love,

Judy xo

*Image credit: Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Mint Tea

Leave a Reply

